The Board of Trustees, the governing board of the University, reserves the right to alter any or all tuition and fees for any semester without notice.
Tuition and University service fees are determined by the trustees shortly before the beginning of each academic year. Information regarding tuition and fees can be found by accessing the Tuition and Fees Table on MSU Denver's website, msudenver.edu/bursar/.
A student is classified as an in-state or out-of-state student for tuition purposes at the time of admission. This classification is based upon information supplied by the student on the application for admission and is made in accordance with the Colorado Tuition Classification Law, (Title 23, Article 7, of the Colorado revised Statutes). Once determined, a student's tuition classification status remains unchanged unless clear and convincing evidence that a change should be made is presented. If a student believes he or she is entitled to in-state status, the student must submit the Petition for In-state Tuition form, along with evidence of in-state status to the Office of the Registrar by the published deadline dates.
The tuition classification statute requires that, in order to qualify for in-state status, a student (or the parents or legal guardian of the student in the case of students under 23 years of age who are not emancipated) must have been domiciled in Colorado for one year or more immediately preceding the first day of the semester for which such classification is sought.
Domicile for tuition purposes requires two inseparable elements: (1) a permanent place of habitation in Colorado and (2) intent to remain in Colorado with no intent to be domiciled elsewhere. Some examples of connections with the state that provide objective evidence of intent are: (1) payment of Colorado state income tax as a Colorado resident, (2) permanent employment in Colorado, (3) ownership of residential real property in Colorado, (4) compliance with laws imposing a mandatory duty on any domiciliary of the state, such as the drivers' license law and the vehicle registration law and (5) registration to vote. Other factors unique to the individual can also be used to demonstrate the requisite intent.
Any questions regarding the tuition classification law should be directed to an admissions officer in the Office of Admissions or the Tuition Classification Officer with the Office of the Registrar. In order to qualify for in-state status for a particular semester, the student must prove that domicile began no later than one year prior to the first day of classes for that semester. Refer to the Academic Calendar for dates to qualify and to submit the Petition for In-state Tuition.
Graduate students, regardless of their tuition classification based on residence status, are not eligible for the Colorado Opportunity Fund (COF) even if they are registered in undergraduate level courses.
An application fee is required of all applicants for admission to the University. This fee is nonrefundable and will not be applied to tuition.
Domestic Student Application Fee: $50
International Student Application Fee: $50
Matriculation Fee: $50
Returned Check Charge: $17
Admission Fees updates by the Office of Admissions November 4, 2016