Apr 02, 2023  
2023-2024 Undergraduate Catalog 
2023-2024 Undergraduate Catalog

Department of Physics

Academic Programs

The Department of Physics at the Metropolitan State University of Denver offers programs leading to a Bachelor of Science in Physics, a Bachelor of Arts in Physics, a Bachelor of Arts in Physics with Science Licensure, and a Minor in Physics.

We also offer a Bachelor of Science in Aerospace Physics. This degree program is a collaboration between the Aviation and Aerospace Science Department (AVS-AES) and the Physics Department (PHY). Students interested in pursuing a B.S. in the field of Aerospace Physics may do so through Metropolitan State University of Denver’s Center for Individualized Learning-Individualized Degree Program (IDP).  

The Department of Physics offers introductory courses designed for both STEM majors as well as for the enrichment of non-science majors, including introductory physics, astronomy, and cosmology.  We prepare our physics majors for graduate study in a wide range of disciplines including physics, astronomy, engineering, and science education, and for successful employment in technologically-oriented industries.

Our faculty are outstanding classroom teachers, bringing rigorous coursework, laboratory experience, advising and mentoring to our students. They maintain professional currency and engage in scholarly activities through involvement in undergraduate research, personalized professional development programs, and projects associated with teaching and learning. The Department of Physics seeks to increase the science literacy of the Denver community through science outreach and by playing a critical role in the education of future teachers.