Apr 19, 2024  
2015-2016 Undergraduate Catalog 
2015-2016 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


The Metropolitan State University of Denver is governed by the Board of Trustees-Metropolitan State University of Denver. The members are appointed by the Governor of Colorado and approved by the Senate.

Board of Trustees

Date of First Appointment

Term Expires 

Elaine Gantz Berman



Kenn Bisio, Faculty



Joseph Boss, Student



Dawn P. Brookhardt, Vice Chair



Terrance Carroll



Robert Cohen



Barbara Grogan



William Hanzlik



Walter Isenberg



Michelle M. Lucero, Chair



Judy George, Alumni



John (Jack) Pogge




Office of the President


Stephen M. Jordan, Ph.D.

General Counsel

Loretta P. Martinez, J.D.

Interim Associate to the President for Diversity

Myron Anderson, Ph.D.

Associate to the President for Marketing and Communications/Chief of Staff

Catherine B. Lucas, M.A.

Executive Director, Equal Opportunity

Percy A. Morehouse, Jr., Ph.D.

Provost and Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs

Vicki L. Golich, Ph.D.

Vice President for Administration, Finance and Facilities/CFO

Steve Kreidler, M.B.A.

Vice President of University Advancement and CEO of the MSU Denver Foundation

John H. Burtness

Director of Intercollegiate Athletics



Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs

Provost and Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs

Vicki L. Golich, Ph.D.

Deputy Provost

Luis Torres, Ph.D.

Associate Vice President for Undergraduate Studies

Mark Potter, Ph.D.

Associate Vice President for Curriculum and Academic Effectiveness

Bernice Harris, Ph.D.

Associate Vice President of Enrollment Management

Lori Kester, M.P.A.

Associate Vice President for Extended Campus Programs

Carol Svendsen, M.A.

Interim Associate Vice President for Student Engagement and Wellness/Dean of Students

Braelin Pantel, M.A.

Chief Information Officer

James Lyall, Ph.D.

Executive Director of the Office of International Studies

Akbarali Thobhani, Ph.D.

Executive Director of the Center for Visual Art

Deanne Pytlinksi, Ph.D.

Director of Academic Advising

Ned Muhovich, Ph.D.

Director of the Access Center

Greg Sullivan, M.S.

Director of Admissions and Outreach

Vaughn Toland, M.A.

Director of Campus Recreation

Tony Price, B.S.

Director of Career Services

Bridgette Coble, M.S.

Director of the Counseling Center

Gail Bruce-Sanford, Ph.D.

Interim Director of the Educational Technology Center

Michael Erskine, Ph.D.

Director of Financial Aid

Cindy Hejl, B.S.

Director of GLBT Student Services

Steve Willich, B.S.

Director of the Health Center at Auraria

Steve Monaco, M.A.

Director of High School Upward Bound

Paulette McIntosh, B.A.

Director of the Honors Program

Megan Hughes, Ph.D.

Director of The Center for Individualized Learning

Elizabeth Parmelee, Ph.D.

Director of the Applied Learning Center

Rhonda Eaker, Ph.D.

Director of ITS Application Services

Kevin Taylor, M.B.A.

Director of New Student Orientation

Denny Boyd, M.A.

Director of Program Review

Pamela Troyer, Ph.D.

Director of Student Activities

Angela LeValley, M.A.

Director of Student Media

Steven Haigh, B.A.

Director of Student Support Services

Patricia Trotman, M.A.

Director of the Veterans Upward Bound Program

Leroy Chavez, B.A.

Director of the Center for Visual Art

Jennifer Garner, M.F.A.


Paula E. Martinez, M.B.A.


Office of the Vice President for Administration, Finance, and Facilities

Vice President for Administration, Finance, and Facilities

Steve Kreidler, M.B.A

Associate Vice President for Administration and Finance

George Middlemist, M.S., C.P.A.

Director of Accounting Services

Liza Larsen, M.B.A, C.P.A.

Director of Budget

Jinous Lari, M.B.A., C.P.A.

Director of Facilities Planning and Space Management

Sean Nesbitt, B.S.

Director of Human Resources

Nicole Tefft, M.A.

Director of IT Security, Networking, Asset Management and Procurement

Mike Hart, B.S.

Director of Institutional Research

Ellen Boswell, B.S.


Office of the Vice President for University Advancement

Vice President of University Advancement and CEO of the MSU Denver Foundation

John H. Burtness

Chief Finance and Operations Officer

Steve DeVisser

Interim AVP for Advancement Services

Laura Cline

Executive Director of Sponsored Research and Programs

Gwendolyn Mami

Director of Annual Fund

Jamie Hurst

Director of Major Gifts

Steve Galpern

Director of Special Initiatives for Alumni Relations

Janell Lindsey


Academic Administrators

College of Business


Ann B. Murphy, Ph.D.

Associate Dean

Clayton Daughtrey, Ed.D.

Chair, Accounting

Gregory Clifton, J.D.

Chair, Computer Information Systems

Abel Moreno, Ph.D.

Chair, Economics

Arthur Fleisher III, Ph.D.

Chair, Finance

Paul Camp, Ph.D.

Chair, Management

Debora Gilliard, Ph.D.

Chair, Marketing

Gregory Black, Ph.D.

College of Letters, Arts and Sciences


Joan L. Foster Ph.D.

Associate Dean

Arthur Campa, Ph.D.

Associate Dean

Michael Kornelsen, D.M.E.

Associate Dean

Linda Lang-Peralta, Ph.D.

Chair, Africana Studies

Winston Grady-Willis, Ph.D.

Chair, Art

Deanne Pytlinksi, Ph.D.

Chair, Biology

Ford Lux, Ph.D.

Chair, Chemistry

Andrew Bonham, Ph.D.

Chair, Chicano Studies

Ramon del Castillo, Ph.D.

Chair, Communication Arts and Sciences

Karen Lollar, Ph.D.

Chair, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

Jason Janke, Ph.D.

Chair, English

Cindy Carlson, Ph.D.

Chair, History

James Drake, Ph.D.

Chair, Mathematical and Computer Sciences

Lindsay Packer, Ph.D.

Chair, Modern Languages

Maria Akrabova, Ph.D.

Chair, Music

Peter Schimpf, Ph.D.

Chair, Philosophy

David Sullivan, Ph.D.

Chair, Physics

Richard Krantz, Ph.D.

Chair, Political Science

Robert Hazan, Ph.D.

Chair, Psychology

Layton Curl, Ph.D.

Chair, Social Work

Christian Itin, Ph.D.

Chair, Sociology and Anthropology

Melissa Monson, Ph.D.

Chair, Theatre

Marilyn Hetzel, Ph.D.

Director of the Institute for Women’s Studies and Services

Arlene Sgoutas, Ph.D.

Director of the Center for Advanced STEM Education

Larry S. Johnson, Ph.D.

Director of the Mathematics Peer Study Program

Connie Novicoff, M.S.

Director of the English Composition Program

Jessica Parker, Ph.D.

Director of the Family Literacy Program

Adriann Wycoff, Ph.D.

Director of the Writing Center

Elizabeth Kleinfeld, Ph.D.

College of Professional Studies


Sandra Haynes, Ph.D.

Associate Dean

Kathy Heyl, M.S.

Chair, Aviation and Aerospace Science

Jeffrey Forrest, Ph.D.

Chair, Criminal Justice and Criminology

Henry Jackson, Jr., Ph.D.

Chair, Engineering Technology

Mingli He, Ph.D.

Chair, Health Professions

Nancy Sayre, D.H.Ed.

Chair, Hospitality, Tourism and Events

Carol Krugman, M.Ed.

Chair, Human Performance and Sport

Ruth Ann Nyhus, Ph.D.

Chair, Human Services

Tara Tull, M.S.

Chair, Industrial Design

Ted Shin, M.F.A.

Chair, Journalism and Technical Communication

Robert Amend, M.A.

Chair, Nursing

Linda Stroup, Ph.D.

Chair, Nutrition

 Ann Diker, Ph.D., R.D.

Director of the One World One Water Center for Urban Water Education and Stewardship

Tom Cech, M.S.

School of Education


Elizabeth Hinde, Ed.D.

Chair, Elementary Education and Literacy

Lisa Altemueller, Ed.D.

Chair, Secondary, K-12, and Educational Technology

Philip E. Bernhardt, Ed.D.

Chair, Special Education, Early Childhood and Culturally/Linguistically Diverse Education

Cynthia Lindquist, Ed.D.

Revised: January 7, 2016