Jun 13, 2024  
2011-2012 Undergraduate Catalog 
2011-2012 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


The Metropolitan State College of Denver is governed by the Board of Trustees–Metropolitan State College of Denver. The members are appointed by the Governor of Colorado and approved by the Senate.

Board of Trustees

Date of First Appointment

Term Expires 

Maria Garcia Berry



Dawn P. Brookhardt



Kathryn Cammack, Student



Terrance Carroll



Robert Cohen



Melody Harris



Michelle M. Lucero



Bill Hanzlik



Eric Peterson, Alumni



Ellen S. Robinson



Hal Nees, Faculty




Office of the President


Stephen M. Jordan, Ph.D.

General Counsel

Loretta P. Martinez, J.D.

Interim Associate to the President for Diversity

Myron Anderson, Ph.D.

Executive Director, Equal Opportunity

Percy A. Morehouse, Jr., Ph.D.

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Vicki L. Golich, Ph.D.

Vice President for Finance and Administration

Natalie Lutes, M.P.A.

Vice President for Institutional Advancement

Carrie Besnette Hauser, Ph.D.

Director of Intercollegiate Athletics

Joan McDermott, Ed.D.


Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Vicki L. Golich, Ph.D.

Deputy Provost

Luis Torres, Ph.D.

Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

Sheila Thompson, Ph.D.

Associate Vice President for Enrollment Services

Judi A. Diaz Bonacquisti, M.B.A.

Associate Vice President and Dean of Student Life

Emilia Paul, M.A.

Assistant Vice President for Extended Campus Programs

Carol Svendsen, M.A.

Assistant Dean of Student Life

Braelin Pantel, M.A.

Chief Information Officer James Lyall, Ph.D.

Executive Director of the Office of International Studies

Akbarali Thobhani, Ph.D.

Executive Director of the Center for Visual Art

Greg Watts, M.F.A.

Director of Academic Advising

Ned Muhovich, Ph.D

Director of the Access Center

Greg Sullivan, M.S.

Director of Assessment and Testing


Director of Campus Recreation

Tony Price, B.S.

Director of Career Services

Bridgette Coble, M.S.

Director of the Counseling Center

Gail Bruce-Sanford, Ph.D.

Director of the Educational Technology Center

Ben Zastrocky, M.S.I.S.

Director of Financial Aid

Cindy Hejl, B.S.

Director of GLBT Student Services

Steve Willich, B.S.

Director of the Health Center at Auraria

Steve Monaco, M.A.

Director of High School Upward Bound

Paulette McIntosh, B.A.

Director of the Honors Program

Benjamin Moritz, Ph.D.

Director of Immigrant Student Services/ESL

Patti Lohman, M.A.

Director of The Center for Individualized Learning

Elizabeth Parmelee, Ph.D.

Director of the Center for Innovation Mick Jackowski, Ph.D.

Director of The Internship Center

Rhonda Eaker, Ph.D.

Director of New Student Orientation

Denny Boyd, M.A.

Director of Program Review

Gloria Eastman, Ph.D.

Director of Student Academic Success

Derrick Haynes, M.Ed.

Director of Student Activities

Brooke Gerber, M.S.

Director of Student Media

Steven Haigh, B.A.

Director of Student Support Services

Patricia Trotman, M.A.

Director of the Veterans Upward Bound Program

Leroy Chavez, B.A.

Director of the Center for Visual Art

Jennifer Garner, M.F.A.


Paula E. Martinez, M.B.A.

Associate Registrar

Sonia Gonzales, B.A.

Associate Registrar

Eriks Humeyumptewa, B.A.


Office of the Vice President for Administration, Finance, and Facilities

Vice President for Administration and Finance

Natalie Lutes, M.P.A.

Associate Vice President of Human Resources

Judith Zewe, M.S.


George Middlemist, M.S.B.A.

Assistant Controller

Liza Larsen, B.S.

Chief Technology Officer Joan Zerkovich, M.S.B.A.

Coordinator of Institutional Research

Ellen Boswell, B.S.

Director of Application Services

Rick Beck, B.S.

Director of Budgets

Jinous Lari, M.B.A., C.P.A.

Director of Desktop and Academic Technology

Ken Gurule, B.S.

Director of Information Security

Clyde Hoadley, B.S., CISSP

Director of Infrastructure Services

Joe Lamers, B.S., B.A.

Director of User Services

Camille Fangue, M.A.Ed.

Facilities Planner

Sean Nesbitt, B.S.


Office of the Vice President for Institutional Advancement

Vice President for Institutional Advancement/
Executive Director of the Metro State Foundation

Carrie Besnette Hauser, Ph.D.

Associate Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations


Associate Vice President for Communications and Advancement

Catherine B. Lucas

Executive Director of Sponsored Research and Programs

Gwendolyn Mami


Academic Administrators


School of Business



Ann B. Murphy, Ph.D.

Associate Dean

Clayton Daughtrey, Ed.D.

Chair, Accounting

Rick Crosser, Ph.D.

Chair, Computer Information Systems

Abel Moreno, Ph.D.

Chair, Economics

Arthur Fleisher, Ph.D.

Chair, Finance

Paul Camp, Ph.D.

Chair, Management

Debora Gilliard, Ph.D.

Chair, Marketing

Gregory Black, Ph.D.


School of Letters, Arts and Sciences



Joan L. Foster Ph.D.

Associate Dean

Arthur Campa, Ph.D.

Associate Dean

Linda Lang-Peralta, Ph.D.

Associate Dean

Rae Shevalier, Ph.D.

Chair, African and African American Studies

Winston Grady-Willis, Ph.D.

Chair, Art

Greg Watts, M.F.A.

Chair, Biology

Ford Lux, Ph.D.

Chair, Chemistry

Russell Barrows, Ph.D.

Chair, Chicano Studies

Ramon del Castillo, Ph.D.

Chair, Communication Arts and Sciences

Karen Lollar, Ph.D.

Chair, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences

Kenneth Engelbrecht, Ph.D.

Chair, English

Cindy Carlson, Ph.D.

Chair, History

Stephen J. Leonard, Ph.D.

Chair, Mathematical and Computer Sciences

David Ruch, Ph.D.

Chair, Modern Languages

Sixto Torres, Ph.D.

Chair, Music

Michael Kornelsen, D.M.E.

Chair, Philosophy

David Sullivan, Ph.D.

Chair, Physics

Sidney A. Freudenstein, Ph.D.

Chair, Political Science

Robert Hazan, Ph.D.

Chair, Psychology

Layton Curl, Ph.D.

Chair, Social Work

Virginia Cruz, Ph.D.

Chair, Sociology, Anthropology, and Behavioral Sciences

Linda Marangia, Ph.D.

Chair, Theatre

Marilyn Hetzel, Ph.D.

Director of the Institute for Women’s Studies And Services

Maurice Hamington, Ph.D.

Director of the Center for Mathematics, Science and Environmental Education

Larry S. Johnson, Ph.D.

Director of the Mathematics Peer Study Program

Connie Novicoff, M.S.

Director of the English Composition Program

Jane Chapman Vigil, Ph.D.

Director of the Family Center

Virginia Cruz, Ph.D.

Director of the Family Literacy Program

Adriann Wycoff, Ph.D.

Director of the Writing Center

Elizabeth Kleinfeld, Ph.D.


School of Professional Studies



Sandra Haynes, Ph.D.

Associate Dean

Paul Ballard, Ed.D.

Associate Dean

Kathy Heyl, M.S.

Chair, Aviation and Aerospace Science

Jeff Forrest, M.S.

Chair, Criminal Justice and Criminology

LiYing Li, Ph.D.

Chair, Engineering Technology

Richard Pozzi, M.S.

Chair, Health Professions

Ann Diker, M.S., R.D.

Chair, Hospitality, Tourism, and Events

John Dienhart, Ph.D.

Chair, Human Performance and Sport

Ruth Ann Nyhus, Ph.D.

Chair, Human Services

Tara Tull, M.S.

Chair, Industrial Design

Ken Phillips, M.S.

Chair, Nursing

Barbara Nelson, Ed.D.

Chair, Elementary, Secondary, Linquistically Diverse,  and K-12 Education

Lisa Altemueller,  Ed.D

Chair, Special Education, Early Childhood Education, Reading, and Educational Technology

Cynthia Lindquist, Ed.D.

Chair, Technical Communications and Media Production

Robert Amend, M.A.

Director of the Center for Addiction Studies

Scott DeMuro, Ph.D.

Director of the Center for High Risk Youth Studies

Lynann Butler-Sanchez, M.A.

Director of the Center-Nonprofit Organization Administration

Kelly Felice, M.S.M.